Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Universite de la Reunion
Saint-Denis, Réunion


University description (as per official university website)

An ultra-peripheral region of Europe in the heart of the Indian Ocean 10,000 km from mainland France, Réunion Island is a French Overseas Department. Its University (with full autonomy since 1982) has grown steadily over the years. Its specific geo-strategic position makes it the only European university in this part of the world. So it has what it takes to interface between Europe and the Indian Ocean.

The University of La Réunion, an up and coming University

Currently located over 3 separate sites (Saint-Denis, Le Tampon, Saint-Pierre), the University of La Réunion has seen considerable growth of its size in the last 20 years, as the number of students shot from 2,000 to 12,000 and floor space from 9,000 to 74,000 sq m. The best part of students are in the Saint-Denis site, in the North of the island, but the South Colleges in Saint-Pierre and Le Tampon have witnessed a sharp increase in student number since their creation.

The University of La Réunion in figures

The University of La Réunion includes:
4 faculties
1 Faculty of Law & Economics
1 Faculty of Science & Technology
1 Faculty of Arts & Humanities
1 Faculty of Human Sciences & Environment
2 Institutes
1 Business School (IAE)
1 University Institute of Technology (IUT)
27 Departments
17 Laboratories
370 teaching & research staff
over 250 administration, technical & service staff
7 Cross-Faculty Services
15 Central Administration Services

Research stakeholders in The University of La Réunion
17 laboratories including 4 UMR’s (joint University-CNRS Research Units) are the backbone of research at the University of La Réunion. In addition to usual collaboration with French research bodies, strong links have been established with European and foreign research centres, particularly in the Indian Ocean area, in various fields such as economy, literature or Earth sciences.

Some 30 PhD’s are completed each year at the University of La Réunion. The University has an Interdisciplinary Doctoral School (EDI) to help doctoral students carry on their research and facilitate their integration into the professional world.

The Doctoral Research Board (BRED) is the special instrument of the Research Council (CS); its mission is to implement a dynamic policy in favour of research through monitoring, coordination and administrative management of research and research training for the whole University. In addition, a Research Promotion Unit has been set up to support the Deputy Vice-Chancellor in charge of Research Promotion, with the aim of fostering innovative company creation, helping with patent registration formalities, etc.

Research is organized around 7 competence poles
For better clarity, research activities have been structured along 7 competence poles.
1. Biodiversity, biotechnologies and agri-food promotion, also involving plant protection.
2. Study of marine and coastal areas.
3. Information processing, modelling and reasoning (linked to a powerful calculation centre since 2003).
4. Observation of natural environments dynamics. This pole, called “Geosphere,” is involved in the creation of an Atmospheric Physics Research Institute.
5. “Indian Ocean: Culture, Geography, Peoples and Languages.” Research themes include inter-cultural and multi-language issues.
6. Regional economic and legal development and management.
7. “Risk Factors, Public Health, Bio-Computing” is a new pole notably involved in the installation of a cyclotron in Réunion Island and the setting up of a “Faculty of Health Science.”

The University of La Réunion offers a wide range of curricula in its 4 Faculties and 2 Institutes:
1 Faculty of Law & Economics
1 Faculty of Science & Technology
1 Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences
1 Faculty of Human Sciences & Environment
1 Business School
1 University Institute of Technology

A member of the European Higher Education & Research Area, the University of La Réunion has clearly stated its desire to fall in line with Europe by altering its curricula on the Bachelor / Master / Doctorate basis (Licence / Master / Doctorat or “LMD” in French). The LMD system includes 3 stages:
Licence after 3 years’ undergraduate studies,
Master after 5 years’ studies, with two orientations; one towards research leading to a PhD, the other being job-oriented,
Doctorate after 8 years’ studies.

Students can choose between four study fields, each with courses at all LMD levels:
Economics & Management
Arts & Social Sciences
Science, Technology & Health

The University of La Réunion also focuses on job-oriented studies by developing professional Bachelor and Master degrees ensuring better integration of graduates in the job market.

As for vocational training, the Vocational Training Department offers various courses to people already employed and wishing to update or improve their level.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap