Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Alexandria University
Alexandria, Egypt


University description (as per official university website)

In 1938, the nucleus of the Alexandria University had its beginning in the form of two satellite faculties of Fouad the First University. These were the faculties of Arts and Law. The faculty of Engineering was then established in 1941.

In the light of the need for developing more disciplines for higher learning and with a view towards meeting the need of the people of Alexandria, Alexandria University, formerly known as Farouk University, became a separate entity in August 1942 with four additional faculties: Science, Commerce, Medicine and Agriculture.

In 1952, it became "Alexandria University". Since then, the University witnessed growth and expansion in several fields: the number of Faculties and high institutes increased to 30. Some example of them are as follows:

Faculty of Nursing, 1954 (formerly, High Institute of Nursing)

Faculty of Pharmacy, 1956

High Institute of Public Health, 1963

Faculty of Education, 1969

Faculty of Dentistry, 1971

Medical Research Institute, 1971

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, 1974

Institute of Graduate Studies & Research, 1983

Faculty of Tourism and Hotels, 1983

Alexandria University supervised the establishment of four satellite faculties in the Nile Delta. Those were: Faculty of Medicine in 1962 and Faculties of Science (1969) in Tanta (currently Tanta University), Education and Agriculture in 1969 in Kafr-Elsheikh (currently Kafr-Elsheikh University), which composed the nucleus of Tanta University.

Seven other Faculties were established in Damanhour, the capital of Behera Governorate: the Faculty of Education (1980), the Faculties of Arts, Agriculture, and Commerce (1983), and, very recently, three new Faculties: Science, Veterinary Medicine, and Nursing (2007).

In 1989, the Faculties and Institute affiliated to Helwan University and located in Alexandria joined the University by a Presidential Decree: four Faculties of Physical Education for men, Physical Education for women, fine Arts, and agriculture at Saba-Basha.

A Faculty of Basic Education was also established in 1991 in Marsa-Matrouh Governorate, 300 Km west of Alexandria. In 1998, two Faculties affiliated to the ministry of Higher Education, joined the University: Kindergarten Teachers Training, and Specific Education.

Believing in its role towards Arab and African countries, Alexandria University established in 1960 in Beirut, Lebanon, "Beirut Arab University" which is run and supervised by educational and administrative cadres from Alexandria University. Very recently, Alexandria University is working on the establishment of a branch in Juba, south of Sudan, and in N'djamena in Tchad.


This vision acknowledges that higher education will be challenged to meet the needs of society in the 21st century. Alexandria University must be positioned to accept this challenge and responsibility so that it can continue to lead advances in educational and technological innovation, scientific discovery and creative expression by fostering an atmosphere of intellectual excitement and innovation. To exploit its comparative advantages and to identify opportunities for fruitful collaboration beyond its boundaries, Alexandria University remains committed to interdisciplinary research and education, not only within and across academic fields, departments, schools and colleges, but also across institutional, national and cultural boundaries. Alexandria University shall continue to focus its attention and resources where excellence and comparative advantage can be achieved in its mission.


Alexandria University will be a bold and innovative leader in providing an accessible, adaptable and challenging learning environment to develop graduates and research that meet the needs of its regional, national and international communities. As an academic institution, the University holds the intellectual and personal growth of the individual to be a central purpose. Its programs are designed to broaden perspectives, enrich awareness, deepen understanding, establish disciplined habits of thought, prepare for meaningful careers for students, and thus, to help develop individuals who are informed, responsible, and productive citizens.

Therefore, in addition to creation, preservation, transmission and application of knowledge through teaching, research and creative works, the mission of Alexandria University is to contribute to the society through the pursuit of education, learning, and research at the highest international levels of excellence.

The University seeks to achieve this mission by committing itself to, and being accountable for:

Providing a student-centered educational environment to develop highly employable graduates who will be able to contribute to the economic social and cultural life of their university and wider communities and have the capacity for, and commitment to, continued personal and professional development.

Producing high-quality research of significance to its regions and the professions, and of national and international distinction.

Undertaking dynamic and sustČainČable regional engagements in response to recognizing the rapidly changing global environment and being committed to excellence in education, research and leadership development.

Ensuring effective resource management and generation.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap