Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Mouloud Mammeri University
Tizi-Ouzou, Algeria


University description (as per official university website)

The development of the academic map in 1974-1977 focused on the creation of regional universities: Algiers, Annaba, Oran and Constantine with centers peripheral to the Aures Batna, SÚtif for Petite Kabylie, Tlemcen Oran for the South and Tizi-Ouzou and Bouira for Great Kabylia. Tizi-Ouzou was chosen by President Boumedienne who inaugurated in 1977 (Executive Decree No. 17-77 of 20/06/1977) Centre Universitaire de Tizi-Ouzou (CUTO) whose nucleus was produced in the former Asylum Oued-old A´ssi.

In 1978, the High School Hasnaoui is converted into annex campus A´ssi-Oued. The CUTO was then started with (05) departments:

Department of Exact Sciences,
Department of Biology,
Department of Legal and Administrative Sciences,
Department of Arabic Language and Literature,
Department of Economics was established in 1978-1979, built later by Institute.
The first academic year 490 students were greeted with a fifty nationalities of foreign teachers supervised by 27 young (average age below 30 years).

Other premises were recovered around the town of Tizi Ouzou in the training of medical students and dental surgery.

It is thanks to the opening of the university center that claim Berber cultural expression is a strategic place. Indeed, advocates of this case decide to initiate cultural activities such as conferences, galas and exhibitions. Tizi-Ouzou area becomes the formalization of democratic demands and cultural. The first autonomous associations then began to form at Tizi-Ouzou, such as: the Medical Union of Tizi-Ouzou, the Association for Children of Shuhada and 1985 in Algiers, the first Algerian League of Human Rights . The day of April 20, 1980, said anti-repression day is celebrated annually under the auspices of the student committees and associations.

A draft study of the future University of Tizi-Ouzou was initiated by a U.S. consulting firm in 1979-1980. However, the events of April 1980, the project was unfortunately shelved to be transferred to Blida.

Equipment additives are made on the campus since 1980 Hasnaoui such as home students, the central library, the tower rectories and amphitheaters.

In 1984 the university broke new card in the CUTO (09) National Institutes for Higher Education (INES)

INES Legal and Administrative Sciences
INES Agronomy
INES Biology
INES Arabic Language and Literature
INES Engineering
INES Economics
INES Medical Sciences -* -* INES INES of Electrical Computer
For accommodation, 04 halls are performed:

City girls M'douha,
Cities Boys-Oued Aissa, and of Rehahlia Hasnaoui
In 1985-1986, the number of institutions increased to 12. Within 12 years, student enrollment is multiplied by 22 as indicated in the table below cons (VRPOI, UMMTO):

Staff 1977 81/82 82/83 85/86 89/90 90/91
Students 490 2500 4054 6043 10383 13500
Teachers 27 325 415 value 683 618
Bio-Medical Complex

In 1987-1988, a third campus was realized Boukhalfa (6 km from Tizi-Ouzou) to decentralize Hasnaoui that the university community becomes increasingly important. This academic complex was then added two cities, one for students and the other for teachers.

In terms of scientific and cultural exchanges, the CUTO significant relationships and standing with other universities: those of the country and those located abroad (Africa, Middle East, Europe).

In 1989, this important division was elevated to university (UTO) by Executive Decree No. 89-139 of 08/01/1989 with all (09) institutions mentioned above and (05) departments located on (08) Campus:

Department of Architecture
Department of Electronics
Department of Foreign Languages
Department of Exact Sciences
Department of Mechanical Engineering
The first four departments have been erected in Science in 1991 by Executive Decree No. 91-316 of 07/09/1991. As the Department of Mechanical Engineering, it was erected in 1995 by the Institute Executive Decree No. 95-206 of 04/08/1995 amending and supplementing Article 02 of Executive Decree No. 89-139 of 01 / 08/89 establishing the University of Tizi-Ouzou.

A Department of Amazigh Language and Culture was established by Ministerial Order No. 11 of 01.24.1990.

With numbers rising rapidly, the University of Tizi-Ouzou is still looking for permanent shelter and continues to expand south-east of the city to enter a new campus, the larger the The old farmhouse Bastos, to house all the pole of Technology and several dormitories.

Currently, the University Mouloud Mammeri Tizi-Ouzou (UMMTO) consists of eight (08) faculties comprising twenty five (25) departments.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap