Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)
Zaria, Nigeria


University description (as per official university website)

Our Mission

To advance the frontiers of learning and break new grounds through teaching, research and the dissemination of knowledge of the highest quality; to establish and foster national and international integration, development and the promotion of African traditions and cultures; to produce high level human power and enhance capacity-building through retraining, in order to meet the needs and challenges of the catchment area, Nigeria and the rest of the world.

Our Vision

Ahmadu Bello University shall be a world-class university comparable to any other, engaged in imparting contemporary knowledege, using high quality facilities and multi-disciplinary approaches, to men and women of all races, as well as generating new ideas and intellectual practicesrelevant to the needs of its immediate community, Nigeria and the world at large.

Our Philosophy

At the first convocation ceremony of the Ahmadu Bello University in 1963, the founding father and mentor of the University, Sir Ahmadu Bello enunciated the philosophy of A.B.U when he said:

“The first duty of every university is the search for and the spread of knowledge and the establishment of the nation." The philosophy of the Ahmadu Bello University is predicated upon the “cardinal principle of imparting knowledge and learning to men and women of all races without any distinction on the grounds of race, religious or political beliefs, etc.” Hence the objectives of ABU as articulated in Article 4 of its 1962 and 1975 law are:

(a) to provide regular and liberal courses of instruction in the humanities, sciences and other spheres of learning of a standard required and expected of University of the Highest standing;
(b) to promote research and the advancement of science and learning:
(c) to secure the diffusion of Knowledge throughout Nigeria.

Our History

The Ahmadu Bello University was founded on October 4, 1962 as the University of Northern Nigeria by the then Northern Region government and was taken over as a Federal Institution in 1975.

As stated in Part (ii) of its Principal law, the University was created to, among other things, produce high level manpower, secure the diffusion of knowledge, research and community service in Northern Nigeria and Nigeria in general, and to function as a center of excellence.

Sir Ahmadu Bello, Premier of Northern Nigeria and first Chancellor of the University had this vision for the University:

"The cardinal principle upon which our University is founded is to impart knowledge and learning to men and women of all races without any distinction on the grounds of race, religious, or political beliefs. This principle is enshrined in the University Law. Only through freedom of membership and freedom of enquiry and research can a University be drawn into the full ferment of thought from which new knowledge comes. Only if it adheres to those freedoms can it become truly great. If our staff and students are drawn from all parts of the world, then the mixture of international minds working together in an atmosphere of academic freedom can produce a University true to its ideal and meanings."

From a modest beginning in 1962, by 2002 the University has been transformed into the largest and the most extensive of all Universities in Sub-Saharan Africa. Currently, the University covers a land area of 7,000 hectares and encompasses twelve academic faculties, a Postgraduate School and 82 academic departments. It also has five Institutes, six specialized centers, a Division of Agricultural Colleges, a Demonstration Secondary School , a Primary School and Extension and Consultancy Services, which provide a variety of services to the University and the wider society. The total students’ enrolment in the University’s degree and sub-degree programs is about 35,000, drawn from every state of the Federation, Africa and the rest of world. There are about 1,400 academic and research staff and 5,000 support staff serving the University. The University has also nurtured two University Colleges , the Abdullahi Bayero College (now Bayero University , Kano ) and the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa College Now Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University of Technology, Bauchi). While 27 tertiary Institutions made up of Colleges of Education, Polytechnics and Schools of Basic of Preliminary Studies are affiliated to it.

Within the 40 years of existence, the University had to a great extent, met the development needs for which it was founded, especially with regards to the production of high-quality graduates and Community Service in Engineering, Environmental Design, the Medical Sciences, Agriculture, the Humanities, Education and the Natural Sciences. The University’s five hundred thousand alumni are found in all parts of Nigeria , Niger Republic , the Cameroon , South Africa , Europe , Asia and the United States . Its products occupy important positions in the public and the private sectors of the economy, at all levels of Government, and in educational Institutions of higher learning in and outside Nigeria.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap