Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Bangladesh Agricultural University
Mymensing, Bangladesh


University description (as per official university website)

BAU at a Glance
1. Established : 18 August 1961

2. Location: 3 Km South of Mymensingh City & 120 Km North of Nation's Capital City, Dhaka

3. Area: 485 Hectares

4. No of Major Academic Disciplines (Faculties) : 6
- Faculty of Veterinary Science: Departments - 8
- Faculty of Agriculture : Departments - 16
- Faculty of Animal Husbandry : Departments - 5
- Faculty of Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology : Departments - 5
- Faculty of Agricultural Engineering & Technology: Departments - 5
- Faculty of Fisheries : Departments - 4

5. Current Students Enrollment : 4296 (Male-3329, Female-967)

6. No. of Teachers : 522 (Male-476, Female-46)

7. No. of Student Dormitories : 11 (Male-9, Female-2)

8. No. of Experimental Farms : 10

9. Central Library Collections : Books - 189853; Periodicals - 2083 titles; Current Journals - 152

10. Correspondence: Mr. Md. Nazibur Rahman
Registrar, Bangladesh Agricultural University
Mymensingh 2202 Bangladesh
Phone: +880 91 66846 (O) +880 91 66896 (H)
Fax : +880 91 66846 and +880 91 61580

11. PABX Telephone: +880 91 67401-06
Fax : +880 91 61510

Vision and Mission

Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU) is the premier seat of higher agricultural education and research in the country. Its scholastic activities cover all the domains of agricultural sciences having direct bearing on terrestrial and aquatic productivity. The University was established as the nation's only University of its kind in session 1961-62 on the basis of recommendations made by the Commission of National Education and the Food and Agriculture Commission in 1959. The Scheme for the establishment of BAU was finalized on 8 june 1961 and its ordinance was promulgated on 18 August 1961. With the appointment of its first Vice-Chancellor, the university formally came into existance on 2 September 1961 and started functioning with the College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry (CVSAH) at Mymensingh as its nucleus.
The main task of the university is to tone up the quality and standard of higher agricultural education and to produce first-rate agriculturists, agricultural scientists and researchers for shouldering the responsibilities of agricultural development of the country. It is a residential university mandated for offering for higher education and research in agriculture and all of its branches including conduct of examinations, conferment of degrees and granting affiliation.
To achieve the objectives over 90 percent of the recurring budget and the entire development fund come from the government through University Grants Commission (UGC).
BAU has been the principal supplier of skilled human capital for modernizing our national agriculture since its establishment in 1961. And yet it has a long way to go ahead. It is our vision to make this University an integrated institution with functional relationships with relevant government organizations, non-government organizations, and private sector firms enabling BAU to contribute meaningfully to agricultural development of Bangladesh. We want to be guided by three watchwords relevance, quality and internationalization to respond to the call of a fast-changing world system.

The missions of Bangladesh Agricultural University have been to develop the art and science of agriculture for the well being of mankind, and to educate agriculturists of high standards of scientific, managerial and professional competence in harmony with the environment, and to share knowledge and skills with world partners.
The working missions of the University are:
to provide higher learning in all branches of agricultural sciences as a profession-based education;
to conduct basic and applied research in various aspects of agricultural problems faced by farmers, change-agents and agro-industrialists with a view to recommending possible measures for solving them;
to organize and supervise extension and related nation-building activities at different levels and in different forms;
to provide training for personnel of different government and non-government organizations and also for farmers and farm-leaders on various aspects of agriculture and rural development; and
to provide facilities for bilateral and multilateral cooperation and collaboration with institutes or organizations within and outside Bangladesh.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap