Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Northwestern Polytechnical University
Xi an, China


University description (as per official university website)

NPU was originally established in 1938 in Hanzhong as the State Northwest Institute of Engineering by combining Beiyang Institute of Engineering, Engineering College of Peking University, Engineering College of Northeast University, and Jiaozuo Institute of Engineering. Located in Hanzhong for eight years, the institute was moved to Xianyang and was renamed Northwest Institute of Engineering in 1950.

Northwest Institute of Engineering moved to Xi’an In October 1957 and merged with Xi’an Institute of Aeronautics which was founded in 1952 as East China Institute of Aeronautics by combining Aeronautical Department of Jiaotong University, Aeronautical Department of Zhejiang University and Aeronautical Department ofCentral University.

In 1957, Northwest Institute of Engineering was officially renamed Northwestern Polytechnical University. Later in 1970, the Department of Aeronautics of Harbin Institute of Engineering joined with NPU.

NorthwesternPolytechnical University (NPU) is located in ancient capital city of Xi'an. NPU is China's only research-oriented, multi-disciplinary, and international university of science and technology, which simultaneously excels at aeronautics, astronautics, and marine technology. The university emphasizes science and technology, while harmoniously developing the fields of management, humanities, economics, and law. The university is affiliated with the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology.

NPU is one of the 211 and 985 universities and enjoys a high reputation. NPU is member of the Excellent Union 9 universities (E9) in China. The other eight members are Beijing Institute of Technology, Chongqing University, Dalian University of Technology, Southeast University, Harbin Institute of Technology, South China University of Science and Technology, Tianjin University, and Tongji University.

The university has 15 academic schools, offering 54 undergraduate programs, 101 postgraduate programs, 57 doctoral programs, and 12 postdoctoral programs. NPU has more than 3,500 faculty, including 1,300 full and associate professors, 15 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) or the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE), 15 chair and lecture professors of Cheung Kung Scholars Program, and ten winners of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars. Currently, the university has 28,363 students, including 14,362 undergraduates, 5,834 master's degree students, 2,985 full-time PhD candidates, 2,521 professional degree students and 170 international students.

Since the foundation, NPU has graduated more than 140,000 students including 15,000 master students and 3,000 PhD students with more than 30 becoming members of CAS/CAE, 30 generals and six recipients of China’s Top Ten Outstanding Youth title. They enjoy successful careers in their fields and have made considerable contributions to the country’s technology innovation and economic growth.

International cooperation has developed rapidly. The university has built partnerships with more than 100 oversea universities, enterprises, and research institutes. 26 joint research institutes have been established with universities and industries abroad, and two centers for discipline innovation and talent introduction was set up at the university by the National 111 Project. More than 120 internationally renowned professors, including the Nobel laureates Li Zhengdao and Harold Kroto have been appointed as NPU Honorary Professors. NPU is also one of the universities under the Postgraduate Scholarship Program by the China Scholarship Council to send postgraduates to study abroad.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:

   Scholarships and grants for international students @ Northwestern Polytechnical University

Next >>
   American Indian Scholarship Anne Trevarthen Memorial Scholarship Coca-Cola All-State Community Colleges Academic Team Scholarship Enid Hall Griswold Memorial Scholarship
   Irene and Daisy MacGregor Memorial Scholarship Alice W. Rooke Scholarship Caroline E. Holt Nursing Scholarship Dr. Francis Anthony Beneventi Medical Scholarship
   Mildred Nutting Nursing Scholarship Occupational/Physical Therapy Scholarship Lillian and Arthur Dunn Scholarship Margaret Howard Hamilton Scholarship
   Madeline Pickett (Halbert) Cogswell Nursing Scholarship Arthur Lockwood Beneventi Law Scholarship Nellie Love Butcher Music Scholarship Frances Crawford Marvin American Indian Scholarship

Next >>



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap