Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Universidad Católica
Santiago de Guayaquil, Ecuador


University description (as per official university website)

This college was established on May 17, 1962, at the request of the board of Catholic college pro presiding Archbishop Cesar Antonio Mosquera Corral, Archbishop of Guayaquil, the lawyer Dr. Leonidas Ortega Moreira and P. Joachim Flor Vásconez SJ, who were its founders authorities, as Chancellor, first president and director, respectively. Constitutional President of the Republic, Dr. Carlos Julio Arosemena Monroy, through the respective Executive Decision # 936, approved the statute, and the Ministry of Education authorized its operation by Resolution # 1158.

At that time, among others, performed at the Governmental Body Dr. Santiago Castillo Barredo, Mr. Francisco Amador Ycaza, Archbishop Antonio Bermeo, Roger Bishop Beauge, the P. Jorge Mesía SJ, as Secretary of the Governmental Body and Dr. Fausto Idrovo Arcentales, secretary general. Dr. Hector Romero Menéndez (1962-66), Fr José Joaquín Flor (1862-1965) and Maruri Raúl Díaz (1862-1863) was the founding dean of Law, Philosophy and Engineering.

On June 6, 1963, ie at 19 days of being issued the Executive Agreement, began the first term of classes with the following faculties: Jurisprudence, Social and Political Sciences, Philosophy and Science Education Physical and Mathematical Sciences (School of Civil Engineering and Architecture). The courses were taught in the school building at night "April 20" of the Jesuits, located on the corner of Eloy Alfaro 1955 and Manabi, of this city, where he worked until 1966 when it opened in the main building campus, located at Km 1.5 Avenida Carlos Julio Arosemena Tola.

In 1963 was founded the School of Economics, attached to the Faculty of Law. Subsequently, the Governing Body, at its meeting on March 18, 1965, approved the creation of the School of Economics.

In 1965 he created the School of Architecture (formerly functioned as the school attached to the Faculty of Physical Sciences and Mathematics). In 1967-68 they were created by the Institute of Technical Education for Development (Faculty since 26-IX-77), with the School of Animal and Electricity and Telecommunications, and the Faculty of Medicine. In 1969 he joined the School of Social Work (which operated since 1960 under the auspices of the Rotary Club of Guayaquil. In 1970 he authorized the operation of the Institute of Applied Arts (now Interior Design career) and in 1973 he joined the Faculty of Medical Sciences, School of Nursing "San Vicente de Paul" (which was created in 1974 by the Community of the Daughters of Charity and had been operating in Quito).

In 1985 he founded the School of Computer Systems Engineering at the Faculty of Engineering and, in the same year, authorized the operation of the Board of School of Law, Juris.

Graduate School of Medical Sciences Faculty was established in October 1986.

According to current statute approved in 2001, replacing the name Racing School.

Major historical data of the faculty are in the memoirs published in May 2002 to mark the fortieth anniversary institutional.

Generate, promote, disseminate and preserve the science, technology, art and culture, forming competent and socially responsible professionals for the country's sustainable development, inspired by the Christian faith of the Catholic Church.

Being a Catholic university, entrepreneur and leader in Latin America that affects the construction of an efficient national and international society, just and sustainable.

The Catholic University of Santiago de Guayaquil is a higher education institution, and as such has as its primary objective the preparation of CSR professionals based on research, conservation, promotion and dissemination of science and culture, emphasizing its indigenous values to achieve better development and overcoming the Ecuadorian man in a framework of democratic coexistence, social justice, peace, creativity, respect and exaltation to the values and human rights, ensuring at the same time, an institutional manner, the imprint of genuine Christian inspiration and message of Christ as it is transmitted by the Catholic Church, Community and transcendent performance in a university world aware of its social function compared to the problems of contemporary society and fulfilling its academic mission as cultural and educational institute, open to all currents of world thought.

To achieve these objectives, the Catholic University of Santiago de Guayaquil:

1. assume their social responsibility as an institution
2. Ensure that the investigation, preservation, promotion and dissemination of science, technology and culture are carried out objectively, and will be open, in search of truth, the different ideological currents.
3. Promote the democratization of education, as they seek to enhance institutional capabilities, and the constant improvement of its academic standards.
4. will tend to the integral development of man, not only scientific \ and technically competent, but attentive to the different dimensions of the human.
5. Seek the dialogue between Science and Faith To implement this dialogue the university community believes it is essential the completion of theological studies as a core subject for all students. The Department of Theology will offer facilities for the study and pastoral service.
6. Maintain an attitude of self-analysis that makes possible its continued improvement.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap