Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

University of Santo Tomas
Bogotá, Colombia


University description (as per official university website)


The Mission of Universidad Santo Tomas, inspired by the Christian humanist thought of St. Thomas Aquinas, is to promote the integral development of people in the field of higher education, through actions and teaching – learning processes, research and social projection to respond in an ethical, creative and critical way to the exigencies of human life and to be in a position to provide solutions to the problems and needs of society and the country.


The vision as projection of the mission in the medium term, prospects thus the presence and corporate image of Universidad Santo Tomás; it is part of organizations and agencies of collective decision; it pronounces and influences the processes that affect national life or regional communities, because it enjoys both the accreditation of its programs as well as the institutional accreditation; it is interlocutor of other educational and business institutions, both in the public and private sector.

The Christian humanist understanding of the contemporary Colombian and Latin American reality, the legacy of its long tradition in the field of higher education in the context of globalization, inspired by the work of its programs to ensure the construction of common good and the accomplishment of distributive justice, and thus reduce social, economic, cultural and political exclusion. Linked to the different regions of the country through its Sectional and its programs of Open and Distance University is a factor of development and improvement of the environments and contexts in which it operates. It incorporates the use of new educational technologies as tools for teaching and research in all curricula, and links for teachers and students in shared projects to recover, adapt and generate new knowledge in order to solve new problems of society and the country.

The first University Senate of Colombia, the Universidad Santo Tomás, was founded by the Order of Preachers (Dominicans) on June 13, 1580.

In 1608 the College was founded St. Thomas and later merged with the University of General Studies. Thus was born the University College St. Thomas University later called Thomistic.

For nearly three centuries, this university was a powerhouse of thought and culture that trained many generations of New Granada. Among the prominent graduates are the names of Andres Rosillo (with studies in philosophy, theology and fees); Camilo Torres, author of the famous "Memorial of Grievances", Francisco José de Caldas (graduated in royalties), Francisco de Paula Santander (in philosophy and law) and Atanasio Girardot (in royalties).

Renovated in Bogota on March 7, 1965 by the Province of San Luis Bertran de Colombia, of the Order of Preachers, with the name of Santo Tomas University of Colombia, with legal means of resolution No. 3645 of 6 August 1965.

In an effort to expand the institutional mission to train professionals ethical, creative, St. Thomas University was created in 1973, the Section of Bucaramanga, which has high recognition in the northeastern region of the country. In 1975 the University of Santo Tomas was a pioneer in offering programs with distance education mode, with which they have formed a high number of professionals from different regions of the country after the capital was established on 3 March Boyacense 1996, since in Boyacá Dominican Community has had a brilliant educational and cultural tradition and the following year settled in Medellín and in 2007 began offering programs face in Villavicencio.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:

   Scholarships and grants for international students @ University of Santo Tomas

Next >>
   American Indian Scholarship Anne Trevarthen Memorial Scholarship Coca-Cola All-State Community Colleges Academic Team Scholarship Enid Hall Griswold Memorial Scholarship
   Irene and Daisy MacGregor Memorial Scholarship Alice W. Rooke Scholarship Caroline E. Holt Nursing Scholarship Dr. Francis Anthony Beneventi Medical Scholarship
   Mildred Nutting Nursing Scholarship Occupational/Physical Therapy Scholarship Lillian and Arthur Dunn Scholarship Margaret Howard Hamilton Scholarship
   Madeline Pickett (Halbert) Cogswell Nursing Scholarship Arthur Lockwood Beneventi Law Scholarship Nellie Love Butcher Music Scholarship Frances Crawford Marvin American Indian Scholarship

Next >>



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap