Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Universidad de la Serena
La Serena, Chile


University description (as per official university website)

La Universidad de la Serena (ULS) is
an institution of Higher Education
State of Chile, independent, autonomous
and legal personality. Was founded
March 20, 1981 from the merger of
headquarters to the University of Chile and the former
State Technical University were in
city of La Serena. It is the legal heir
more than a century of academic tradition in
Coquimbo Region.

The legacy of the ULS is marked by
several higher education initiatives
developed in the region. April 7
of 1821 created the National Institute
Departmental Coquimbo through a
Decree by the Supreme Director
General Bernardo O'Higgins. In 1835,
the Administration ordered Coquimbo
employment as a teacher of the class of
Chemistry and Mineralogy, Ignacio Domeyko
Polish mining engineer who arrives in
Serena in 1838 remained in the region
until 1844, initiating the teaching of
mining in Chile. In 1887 the Government
of Chile founded the Practical School of Mining
La Serena, became its first director,
Buenaventura Osorio, mining engineer and
Domeyko alumnus. In 1874,
Normal School established preceptor
Serena. Before the training requirement
of professional development
province, on February 27, 1952 School
Mine takes on the quality of headquarters
Former State Technical University. On 27
July 1957 was founded in La Serena,
Regional Conservatory of Music
attached to the Faculty of Science and
Musical Arts from the University of Chile.
Later, he joined the Conservatory
to the local branch of the same university. The
first director of the Conservatory was Jorge
Peña Hen. The University of Chile created the
June 5, 1961 the College
Regional de La Serena. Two years later
Regional College became Central
University and in 1971 was upgraded
host the University of Chile. In
1974, the Normal School became Preceptors
part of the regional headquarters of the
college house in La Serena.

The creation of the University of
Serena is established by Decree
-Law No. 12 of 1981
Ministry of Education. In this body
was decided that the legal seat of the former
State Technical University and the headquarters of
University of Chile, who were in the
city of La Serena, were merged to give
life to the new institution. Since its
creation, ULS starts its activities
academic with three faculties: Engineering,
Sciences and Humanities. The initial enrollment

consisted of 4200 students. His
first president was Daniel Arriagada Pineda,
who guided the destinies of the University
until 1986. In 2000, created the
Faculty of Social and Economic Sciences.
The current undergraduate enrollment is close to
the 8000 students.
The ULS, in the course of its history,
has been gradually diversifying
service coverage. Today
Campus active in six, four
located in La Serena, Coquimbo one
and one in Ovalle. Programs taught
undergraduate in eight areas of knowledge,
and master's and doctoral programs,
in addition to scientific research and
technology in several areas.
In January 2006, the ULS is
accredited for 2 years in the areas of management
institutional and undergraduate teaching
by decision of the National Commission
Undergraduate (CNAP). In 2008 renewed
accreditation for 4 years in the areas of
institutional management, teaching undergraduate
and connectedness, but in this
opportunity for the Commission Agreement
National Accreditation (CNA).
Its current President is Dr. Nibaldo
Avilés Pizarro, who took office
university on October 23, 2006.


The University of La Serena is a regional university of the State of Chile, committed to the Region of Coquimbo, centering his work in the areas of science, technology, humanities and social sciences.

Mainly develops training programs for professionals and graduate students, as favoring both academically and in terms of value, and promote in its students a critical and responsibility for their environment.

Contributes to the generation of knowledge through the conduct of targeted research, preferably related to regional issues, and through artistic creation.

On the mission of social connectedness, the University of La Serena contributes, from the diversity of their work, to improve the processes of public and private, to the preservation and dissemination of culture and social welfare.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:

   Scholarships and grants for international students @ Universidad de la Serena

Next >>
   American Indian Scholarship Anne Trevarthen Memorial Scholarship Coca-Cola All-State Community Colleges Academic Team Scholarship Enid Hall Griswold Memorial Scholarship
   Irene and Daisy MacGregor Memorial Scholarship Alice W. Rooke Scholarship Caroline E. Holt Nursing Scholarship Dr. Francis Anthony Beneventi Medical Scholarship
   Mildred Nutting Nursing Scholarship Occupational/Physical Therapy Scholarship Lillian and Arthur Dunn Scholarship Margaret Howard Hamilton Scholarship
   Madeline Pickett (Halbert) Cogswell Nursing Scholarship Arthur Lockwood Beneventi Law Scholarship Nellie Love Butcher Music Scholarship Frances Crawford Marvin American Indian Scholarship

Next >>



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap