Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Universidad Nacional del Sur
Bahía Blanca, Argentina


University description (as per official university website)

Historical Review

Its predecessor, the Southern Institute of Technology
The Southern Institute of Technology was established on October 9, 1946, through provincial law No. 5051 started its activities under the academic unit of the National University of La Plata. In 1947, the Nation and the province of Buenos Aires signed an agreement by which both would provide funds for operation and maintenance. On February 12, 1948, then-President Juan D. Perón appointed Dr. Miguel López French as a Rector, who should take the necessary measures for their organization. The official opening of the ITS was performed February 20, 1948. The university status was granted in 1950 but was abolished in 1952, returning it to the Ministry of Economy of the Nation. The first graduate of the Institute was Nereo engineer Robert Parish, in 1953, who was born in Tornquist. In 1955, after the fall of Perón, was appointed Professor Pedro González Prieto as its auditor, and began lobbying the national government to acquire the status of national university. After studies by an advisory committee appointed by the Executive, they resolved to create the National University of the South by Legislative Decree No. 154 of January 5, 1956.

The Universidad Nacional del Sur

That same year he was appointed Rector Prof. Vicente Fatone controller. Classes at the fledgling began to be issued on 1 April of that year. The UNS was the seventh national university established in the country, being preceded by those of Córdoba (1613), Buenos Aires (1821), La Plata (1890), Tucumán (1912), Litoral (1919) and Cuyo (1939).

The new academic structure house organized by department, rather than the traditional faculties. These have a lower administrative structure and allow the flexibility and transversality in knowledge. Thus, academic units should not create the materials for their careers than others to dictate their own, which allows students to study in them. The first departments were Accounting, Economics, Physics, Geology and Geography, Mathematics, Engineering, Humanities and Chemistry.
Barely a month after the inauguration, two students who had begun to pursue their careers at the Institute, and David Thomas Laurent Jorge Prieto, appeared to render the latest materials, thus becoming the first graduates of the institution. The first woman to earn his degree from the UNS was Betty Kerlleñevich, Bahia Blanca, one of the founders of STI students who also graduated from engineering.

Major Facilities
The main complex is located on Avenida Alem 1253, where they work most of the departments and laboratories, as well as the Central Library. It occupies more than one block and is located in front of a fountain with a sculpture by the artist Lola Mora. In the same venue and other buildings, close to the above, at the intersection of the streets October 12 and San Juan are located in Humanities, Economics, Geography and Tourism and Management Sciences.
In the area known as "Altos del Palihue" there is another building complex of the UNS where they operate the departments of Agronomy and law. There, the university owns several acres, which also ranks the School of Agriculture and Livestock "Ing Agr. Adolfo J. Zabala. " The building at 80 Columbus Avenue originally corresponded to the headquarters of the Universidad Nacional del Sur. Currently the activity is concentrated here the Chancellor and their secretariats, along with other administrative offices. In Alem Avenue 925 is located the Casa de la Cultura, a colonial mansion that was once an important town of the fifth mansion. This unit is dedicated to artistic and cultural activities organized by the Secretariat General of Communication and Culture. Work there too the Foundation of this institution (FUNSA) and publisher (EdiUNS). In the buildings on the street April 11th 445 working the Business School, the School of GBS (Beginner Level 1, 2 and 3) and the Ecole Normale Supérieure.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap