Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Eesti Põllumajandusülikool
Tartu, Estonia


University description (as per official university website)

The opening of Tartu University - Academia Gustaviana was a momentous event in the educational and cultural history of the Estonian nation. At the opening celebration of the University in 1632 Johan Skytte, a Swedish politician and the founder of the University wished that "... even the peasants of this country could get their share of the watering springs of educational wealth." This was the beginning of agricultural education in Estonia.

After the reopening of Tartu University in 1802 the Chair of Agriculture was founded under the supervision of Prof. J.W. Krause. Initially agronomy was taught in the Faculty of Philosophy, later in the Faculty of Physics and Mathematics.

Other possibilities of receiving agricultural education were also created: the first agricultural higher education establishment in Russia - Vana-Kuuste Institute of Agriculture - was founded in 1834, and higher veterinary education was first provided at the Tartu Veterinary Institute in 1848.

In 1919 the Faculty of Agriculture consisting of the Departments of Agronomy and Forestry, was founded at Tartu University. Experimental stations and trial plots, where students could undertake research work also belonged to the faculty.

The Faculty of Veterinary Science of Tartu University was founded from the Tartu Veterinary Institute.

In 1951 an independent university - the Estonian Academy of Agriculture - was founded comprising the University faculties of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Science.

The Estonian Agricultural Academy was directly subordinate to the Soviet Union Ministry of Agriculture and prepared specialists in different fields of agriculture from agronomists and animal breeders to experts in the electrification of large farms. Work continued in this way until the end of the 1980s. Changes in Estonian society necessitated alterations in the teaching of farmers. As a result, the structure of the University was reorganised and the system of teaching rearranged.

From 1991 our educational institution was called the Estonian Agricultural University. New specialities like Environmental Protection, Landscape Architecture, Production and Marketing of Agricultural Products, Landscape Protection and Preservation, Applied Hydrobiology, Environmental Economics and Natural Resources Management were adopted.

In 1996 the new Main Building in the outskirts of the town was completed and the administration together with the Institute of Economics and Social Sciences moved in. May 2000 saw the opening of the library, café and canteen in the Main Building. In 2004 the new building of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences (Zoomedicum) was opened.

Till the end of 2004 the University had six faculties (Agronomy, Agricultural Engineering, Economics & Social Sciences, Forestry, Rural Engineering, and Veterinary Sciences) and eight institutes (Estonian Agribiocentre, Estonian Plant Biotechnology Research Institute EVIKA, Forest Research Institute, Institute of Animal Science, Institute of Environmental Protection, Institute of Experimental Biology, Institute of Zoology and Botany and Polli Institute of Horticulture).

Since 2005 the Estonian Agricultural University has a new structure. Teaching and research is carried out in five institutes: Institute of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Institute of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences, Institute of Forestry and Rural Engineering, Institute of Technology and Institute of Economics and Social Sciences.

Since November 2005 the Estonian Agricultural University has been called The Estonian University of Life Sciences.

Today teaching and research is carried out in five institutes:
Institute of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Institute of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences
Institute of Forestry and Rural Engineering
Institute of Technology
Institute of Economics and Social Sciences.

The following new curricula have been introduced:
1993 environmental protection
1994 household economy, forest management, landscape architecture
1996 landscape protection and preservation, food production and marketing
1998 ergonomics and small-scale enterprises engineering
1999 real estate planning and evaluation, natural resource management
2000 agricultural and industrial engineering, energy application engineering, management of rural economy and co-operation
2001 environmental economics
2003 applied hydrobiology

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap