Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Northern Territory University
Northern Territory, Australia


University description (as per official university website)

The University’s genesis came about with the introduction of the Territory’s first adult education classes in Darwin in 1951. Supervised study classes were provided for apprentices, as well as typing, shorthand, French and subjects for public service examinations.

As classes and enrolment grew, so did the administrative work. In June 1958, the South Australian Department of Education recommended the appointment of a full-time principal to the Adult Education Centre in Darwin and in 1959 the first institution offering post-secondary studies in the Northern Territory was born, with a total of 19 teachers and over 500 enrolments.

By late 1973, the number of students enrolled had increased to almost 6000. In 1974, Darwin Community College, built on the site of Charles Darwin University’s Casuarina Campus, opened as a multi-purpose, multi-level, post-secondary institution. Its brief was to maintain teaching as a first priority, while catering for a wide range of community needs - social, commercial and industrial.

In 1985, while the NT Government canvassed establishing a local university, the community college was renamed the Darwin Institute of Technology. This was joined by the University College of the Northern Territory, which opened in 1987 with 250 enrolled students.

The Commonwealth Government's decision in 1987 to replace the binary system of higher education with the Unified National System dramatically changed the future for the University College and the Darwin Institute of Technology. Now permitted to merge, the institutions joined to form the Northern Territory University in 1989.

In 2003, Alice Springs’ Centralian College joined with the Northern Territory University to become Charles Darwin University - the only Australian university to offer the full spectrum of education options from senior secondary through to Vocational Education Training (previously known as TAFE), undergraduate and postgraduate degree programs.

Charles Darwin University (CDU) is founded on 50 years of delivering tertiary education in the Northern Territory (NT), Australia.

The University is the largest tertiary institution in the NT, with campuses in the Darwin suburb of Casuarina, Palmerston, Alice Springs, Katherine and Nhulunbuy, and training centres in Jabiru, Tennant Creek and Yulara.

CDU was formed in 2003 through a merger between the Northern Territory University, Alice Springs-based Centralian College, NT Rural College in Katherine, and the Menzies School of Health Research.

Today, CDU offers a fresh approach to education, training, research and knowledge application.

The University aspires to be internationally recognised as a centre for excellence in Indigenous and cross-cultural knowledge, tropical knowledge and desert knowledge.

As a multi-sector education provider, CDU provides unique pathways for students, from school-based vocational training through to advanced research degrees.

Aerial view of Darwin - Tourism NT
Our students are drawn from the local area, across Australia and overseas, consisting of Indigenous and international students, school leavers, and mature age people returning to study.

This section of our website provides information about the University, its campuses and education centres, and about living and studying in the Northern Territory.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap