Scholarships   Universities   Conferences   Student associations   Summer courses   Jobs   How to write a...

Find us on Google+
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]
[find out more]

 Log email:
Not a member? Click here to join.

United States
European Union
CEE States

Small fee conferences
No fee conferences
Full grant conferences

Summer courses
United States
European Union
CEE States


How to write a...
How to write a resume How to write a CV
Write a motivation letter
Prepare your trip aboard
Write a structured essay
Prepare for an interview
Write a cover letter
Write a research essay
Write a recommendation letter
Apply for a scholarship

Featured websites

Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

Horizon College And Seminary
Saskatoon, Canada


University description (as per official university website)

Our Mission Statement: To prepare leaders for Christian life and ministry
Horizon College & Seminary is located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, a beautiful city on the prairies. We are a postsecondary theological college, evangelical in orientation. Students are welcome from a diverse background of Christian faith.

As a smaller Christian college, we strive to attain a close community of awareness and care of others.

Our goal is to:

• ‘Touch the Heart’ through spiritual formation and development
• ‘Teach the Mind’ through academic and vocational preparation, and
• ‘Train the Hands’ through practical ministry experience.

Horizon College & Seminary traces its origins back to a small school that George Hawtin, the local pastor, began in Star City, Saskatchewan, in 1935. He moved the school, then known as Bethel Bible Institute, to Saskatoon in 1937, where he purchased property and developed a campus at Avenue A and 29th Street. In 1945, the college became the property of The Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada and in 1947, the college came under the direction of the Saskatchewan District of the PAOC as a result of a major administrative change in the school itself.

Robert M. Argue came from his Regina pastorate in 1947 to provide the college with solid leadership during the next nine critical years. When he left in 1956, C.H. Stiller, the Saskatchewan District Superintendent, became president and guided the college through some difficult years created by low enrolments. It was, however, during this time that the Manitoba District began to support Bethel. When the school, in 1962, had its name changed to Central Pentecostal College, it came under the joint sponsorship of the Manitoba-Northwestern Ontario and Saskatchewan Districts of the Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada.

During Alvin Schindel's presidency, from 1963 to 1974, the college purchased the former Lutheran Theological Seminary building and some land just off 8th Street East. With the erection of a new residence in 1969, capable of housing seventy-two students, the college was developing a campus more suited to its needs and purposes. In 1972, Central Pentecostal College established an agreement with Lutheran Theological Seminary in Saskatoon whereby qualified students could study at Central Pentecostal College towards attaining a graduate level theological degree.

Further significant campus developments took place during the ten years of Kenneth Birch's presidency from 1974-1984. Ken led a building program that added a 150-seat lecture theatre, an expanded library, and a new office complex to the existing education building.

Central Pentecostal College was granted Affiliate College status by the University of Saskatchewan on July 1, 1983. This recognition has provided access for our students to use the University Libraries and other facilities as well as participate in the recreational sports program. A number of courses were also recognized for transfer credit to the University.

Presidents of the college since 1983 have included: J. Harry Faught (1984-1993), Ron Kadyschuk (1993-1998), David Munk (1998-2004), and Doug Stiller (2004-2006).

Central Pentecostal College began the process of external accreditation with the American Association of Bible Colleges (AABC) in 1988 and was granted accredited membership in the AABC in 1997. The accrediting association is now called the Association for Biblical Higher Education (ABHE).

In 2007 the ABHE approved a new agreement between our college and Providence Theological Seminary (in Otterburne, Manitoba) to create a Pentecostal Studies track in Providence’s Master of Divinity program. This opportunity for graduate studies is administered through Canadian Pentecostal Seminary (CPS) Central, the seminary division of our college programs.

Hundreds of graduates from the ministerial training programs at Horizon are in different types of full-time ministry at home and abroad as well as responsible places of lay leadership in local churches and other ministries.

In 2006 Dr. Gordon Giesbrecht was appointed Full Time President of the college. He has provided visionary leadership towards renewing the ministry of the college including the name change brought about May 1st, 2007, wherein we officially changed our name to Horizon.

Scholarships section: Scholarships website section
Scholarships email:

   Scholarships and grants for international students @ Horizon College And Seminary

Next >>
   NAWIC Founders Scholarship Foundation NAWIC Founders Scholarship Foundation Canada / China Scholarship Program Microsoft Corporation Graduate Scholarships
   Mary A Gardner Scholarship Harry and Sarah Zelzer Fellowship International Room, Board and Tuition Grants Hagley Museum and Library Grants-in-Aid
   Graduate Teaching Assistantship International Presidential Scholarship Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Fellowship Dissertation Fellowships on Peace and Security in the Changing World
   Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships Mackenzie King Traveling Scholarships International Friendship Grant

Next >>



Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion

Privacy | Disclaimer | Sitemap